Reading Response: Shitty First Drafts

I thought this text was fantastic. It was so liberating because I’ve always been under the impression that even the “not so great” writers, can sit down and words immediately start to flow out onto the page. It is also a relief to me, because I always feel the need to write more than one draft, simply because I always second guess myself. Ann’s writing has helped me realize that it’s good to write more than one draft, and it is even common for the most phenomenal writer’s to do this. Whenever I’m writing, my mind is constantly questioning itself and making me feel like the way I’m writing will never be good enough. Ironically, I’m even doing this right now! It drives me nuts. However, I feel like the fear and anxiety of writing has definitely improved since college started. Before college, I could make myself panic at the thought of trying to write a decent paper or essay. Writing has become a lot more common for me now and I think this has helped ease my worry. I would have to say that I don’t have any consistent or particular writing rituals, but there are a few things I do before I write and even during. Before I write, I almost always scribble out an outline. Without an outline, I am overwhelmed and don’t even know where to begin with my thoughts. I would also prefer to be sitting somewhere comfortable, and my favorite place to write is in the library. I feel like I can really think because it’s so quiet. Music also helps my writing. I tend to zone out and music makes me more productive. Other than that, I typically write two drafts, and if I’m really paranoid, I’ll write three. I feel like my writing rituals are effective for me, because they make me comfortable. If I am under any kind of pressure or stress, I probably need to find another time to write. I feel like I have a love, hate relationship with writing, but as of right now, I’m on pretty good terms with it. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I wrote two papers last week and had other writing assignments that I successfully finished on time.

Leave a Reply

